Sites of Parliament

Parliaments in past and present.

Connected Sites

Site Rationale Link
Brasilia Brasilia National Congress Building designed by Niemeyer. Houses the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies
Bridgetown Parliament of Barbados
City of Luxembourg Hotel de la Chambre des Députés, Luxembourgian Parliament
Edinburgh Scottish Parliament at Holyrood
Florence The Salone del Cinquecento at the Palazzo Vecchio served as the first parliament of unified Italy before the capital was moved to Rome
Independence Hall Congress Hall, part of inscribed WHS Independence Hall was used as the United State Congress from 1790-1800
Mudejar Architecture of Aragon Aragon parliament at the Aljaferia in Zaragoza.
Old City of Berne Federal Palace of Switzerland
Ouro Preto Parliament House
Paris, Banks of the Seine Palais Bourbon, seat of the French National Assembly
Paseo del Prado and Buen Retiro The Congreso de los diputados meets in the Palacio de las Cortes
Prague Valdstejn Palace (Czech Senate) and some buildings in the Lesser Town
Québec Parc Montmorency: was the location of the first and second Parliament buildings of the United Province of Canada between 1852 and 1866 (wiki fr)
Rabat Parliament building
Regensburg Regensburg was the regular meeting place of the permanent Imperial Diet (1663-1806)
Residences of the Royal House of Savoy Carignano Palace Italian Parliament 1861-1864
Rome Madama palace (Italian Senate) and Montecitorio palace (Italian Chamber of Deputies)
Royal Exhibition Building 1st Parliament of Australia 9 May 1901
San Marino and Mount Titano Consiglio Grande e Generale, Parliament of San Marino
St. George, Bermuda The State House (1620) in St. George's was the first purpose-built home of the House of Assembly, which then constituted the only chamber of the Parliament of Bermuda (wiki)
St. Kilda
The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier Chandigarh, Palace of Assembly - Legislatures of Punjab and Haryana.
Valletta Grandmaster's Palace in Valletta is Malta Parliament
Vienna Austrian Parliament
White City of Tel-Aviv The Independence Hall was the temporery seat of the Israeli parliament until the construction of the current Kneset in Jerusalem was completed.
Willemstad The Parliament of Curacao meets at Wilhelminaplein 4 in Punda.


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Sites of Parliament?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source