Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers


WHS which are archipelagos or consist of more than one island from within an larger archipelago. Archipelagos are groups of islands, often volcanic, forming along island arcs generated by subduction zones or hotspots, but there are many other processes involved in their construction, including erosion, deposition and land elevation. The main construction process is shown.

The connection belongs to Geography connections.

Connected Sites

  • Brazilian Atlantic Islands: Fernando de Noronha:(Volcanic) "an archipelago of 21 islands and islets in the Atlantic Ocean" (Wiki)
  • Central Amazon Conservation Complex: "Anavilhanas contains the second largest archipelago of river islands in the Brazilian Amazon" (AB ev)
  • Coiba National Park: Coiba NP consists of 38 islands which make up an archipelago. Link
  • Galapagos Islands: (Volcanic) Official name: Archipi?lago de Col?n. The group consists of 15 main islands, 3 smaller islands, and 107 rocks and islets. All are inscribed - with only a few built up areas excluded from the NP
  • Gough and Inaccessible Islands: Tristan da Cunha - (Volcanic) The inscribed site contains 2 of the 6 islands in the archipelago (Gough and Inacessible)
  • Great Barrier Reef: (Tectonic Uplift and Deposition). The reef itself is not considered an "Archipelago" but it includes a number of islands which are the remains of a mountain chain. The "Cumberland Islands Archipelago" consists of some 70 inner continental islands of which some at least are inside the inscribed site e..g "Located in the southern part of the Whitsundays, Keswick Island is a member of the Cumberland group of islands and is within the UNESCO World Heritage Great Barrier Reef area.
  • Ha Long Bay: (Erosion) "Although the name Ha Long Bay is often used to describe the entire area, it refers only to a section of a vast archipelago of thousands of limestone pinnacles stretching nearly a hundred kilometres from Haiphong to the east."
  • High Coast / Kvarken Archipelago: (Land Elevation) "consists of 7000 skerries and islets. The land rises by 8-8,5 mm annually and creates about 1 km2 new land every year. With this rate the land uplift will create a permanent gateway over the Kvarken in about 2500 years."
  • Isole Eolie: (Volcanic Arc) The group consists of seven islands (Lipari, Vulcano, Salina, Stromboli, Filicudi, Alicudi and Panarea) and five small islets (Basiluzzo, Dattilo, Lisca Nera, Bottaro and Lisca Bianca) in the vicinity of Panare
  • Ogasawara Islands
  • Papahanaumokuakea: (Volcanic) Includes 10 islands and atolls of the Hawaiian Archipelago
  • Phoenix Islands: Volcanic and deposition) "A group of 8 atolls and 2 submerged reefs" (Wiki)
  • Portovenere, Cinque Terre, and the Islands: Archipelago of Golfo dei Poeti, with the three islands of Palmaria, Tino, and Tinetto
  • Rock Islands
  • Socotra Archipelago: (Tectonic movement and erosion All 4 islands plus small outcrops are inscribed
  • St. Kilda: (Volcanic and erosion) 3 main islands plus stacs and outcrops
  • Wadden Sea: (Deposition) "The Frisian Islands, also known as the Wadden Islands or Wadden Sea Islands, form an archipelago at the eastern edge of the North Sea" (Wiki). Some parts of some of the islands are within the inscribed area though the biggest/most developed are excluded.


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Archipelagos?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source