Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Sub-Antarctic Islands

Sub-Antarctic Islands

The New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands consists of the five southernmost groups of the New Zealand Outlying Islands.

Most of the islands are located near the southernmost edge of the largely submerged continent centred on New Zealand called Zealandia. It sank after rifting away from Australia 60-85 million years ago and from Antarctica between 130 and 85 million years ago. It is 3,500,000 km2 in area, almost half the size of Australia and is unusually long and narrow.

The islands are:

- Antipodes Islands

- Auckland Islands

- Bounty Islands

- Campbell Island group

- The Snares

Map of Sub-Antarctic Islands


  • Natural

Share your experiences!

Have you been to Sub-Antarctic Islands? Add your own review!

Site Info

Full name: New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands

Unesco ID: 877

Inscribed: 1998

Type: Natural

Criteria: 9   10  

Link: By Name By ID

Site History

  • 1998 - Inscribed 


The site has 5 locations.

  • Sub-Antarctic Islands: Antipodes Islands New Zealand
  • Sub-Antarctic Islands: Auckland Islands New Zealand
  • Sub-Antarctic Islands: Bounty Islands New Zealand
  • Sub-Antarctic Islands: Campbell Island
  • Sub-Antarctic Islands: The Snares New Zealand


5 community members have visited Sub-Antarctic Islands.