Pritzker Architecture Prize

The Pritzker Architecture Prize is awarded annually by the Hyatt Foundation. The Pritzker is sometimes referred to as "the Nobel Prize of Architecture".

Connected Sites

Site Rationale Link
Bordeaux Richard Rogers (winner 2007): Extension of the Palais de Justice
Brasilia Oscar Niemeyer (1988)
Brugge Toyo Ito (2013) - build a pavillion for the Burg in Brugge, when it was the European Capital of Culture (it's still there, dilapidated)
Chaîne des Puys Hans Hollein (winner 1985): Vulcania museum and park
Graz Zaha Hadid (winner 2004): Argos House, a recent addition within the core zone
Luis Barragán House and Studio Luis Barragan (1980)
Museumsinsel (Museum Island) David Chipperfield (winner 2023): Neues Museum Berlin (1997–2009)
Oporto Álvaro Siza Vieira (1992 winner): Sao Bento Metro Station
Paris, Banks of the Seine (Louvre Pyramid) I.M. Pei (1983); (extension to and refurbishment of the Palais de Tokyo) Lacaton and Vassal (2021)
Prague The Dancing House was designed by architect Frank Gehry (1989 winner)
Rachid Karami International Fair-Tripoli Oscar Niemeyer (1988)
Sydney Opera House Jørn Utzon (2003)
Venice and its Lagoon La Fenice opera house was rebuilt by architect Aldo Rossi (winner 1990)


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Pritzker Architecture Prize?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source