The Order of the Brothers of Our Lady of Mount Carmel or Carmelites is a Roman Catholic religious order founded, probably in the 12th century, on Mount Carmel, hence its name.

Connected Sites

Site Rationale Link
Brugge Church of the Carmelites
Cordoba St. Anna and St. Joseph
Florence Santa Maria del Carmine (Church)
Oaxaca and Monte Alban The Church and ex-monastery of Del Carmen Alto belonged to the Carmelites, who established themselves here in 1696. The complex began as a hermitage built over the teocalli of Huaxyacac. (wiki)
Olinda "It is dominated by the.. convents of the Franciscans, Carmelites and Benedictines" (OUV)
Rome Chiesa di Santa Maria della Scala, by the Discalced Carmelites
Salvador de Bahia Church of the Third Order of Mount Carmel and (adjacent) the Church and Convent of Our Lady of Mount Carmel
Santa Ana de los Rios de Cuenca Carmelite Monastery
Siena San Niccolò al Carmine: "A church and convent of the Carmelites developed at the site and was documented since about 1265."
Syracuse During its history, St John's Basilica was given to "the Carmelites of Montesanto who made new modifications to the structure". (Nomination file, p. 95) – Also the Chiesa del Carmine with its Carmelite convent on Ortygia.
Urbino The former convent of the Discalced Carmelites
Val di Noto "Santa Teresa (...) is a Roman Catholic parish church and Discalced Carmelite cloistered convent" in Catania.


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Carmelites?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source