Seven Wonders of the World

The Seven Wonders of the World (or the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World) is a widely-known list of seven remarkable manmade constructions of classical antiquity.

Connected Sites

Site Rationale Link
Babylon The Hanging Gardens of Babylon was one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, although a number of scholars believe these were actually in the Assyrian capital of Nineveh. (wiki)
Ephesus Temple of Artemis, one of the Classical Seven Wonders of the World
Museumsinsel (Museum Island) Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Ishtar Gate (reconstruction from its remains now in Pergamom Museum)
Olympia Statue of Zeus at Olympia (destructed in the 5th or 6th century AD)
Pyramids (Memphis) Great Pyramid of Giza (still standing)
Rhodes Colossus of Rhodes (felled by an earthquake in 226 BC)


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Seven Wonders of the World?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source