Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Albatross breeding sites

WHS which include the breeding site of a species of Albatross.

IUCN recognises 22 species of Albatross (Alternative definitions range between 14 and 24) of 4 Genera (Great, N Pacific, Sooty and Mollymawk). 20 are listed in Wiki as breeding within a WHS using its definition of "species" - )

The connection belongs to Ecology connections.

Connected Sites

  • Galapagos Islands: Espanola (Hood Island) - Galapagos (or Waved)
  • Gough and Inaccessible Islands: Gough - Tristan, Atlantic yellow-nosed, Sooty Inaccessible - Tristan, Atlantic yellow-nosed
  • Heard and McDonald Islands: Wandering, Black-browed, Light-mantled
  • Macquarie Island: Wandering, Black-browed, Grey-headed, Light-mantled
  • Papahanaumokuakea: Midway and Laysan Islands - Laysan, Black-footed
  • Sub-Antarctic Islands: Antipodes Islands - Antipodean (race antipodensis), Shy (race steadi - alternatively considered the "White Capped" species), Black-browed, Light-mantled Auckland Islands - Gibson's, Southern royal (Enderby only), Northern royal (Enderby only), Shy (race steadi), Light-mantled Bounty Islands - Salvin's Campbell - Antipodean (race antipodensis), Southern royal, Black-browed, Campbell, Grey-headed, Light-mantled, Sooty Snares - Salvin's, Black-browed, Buller's


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Albatross breeding sites?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source