Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Whakarua Moutere (North East Islands)

Whakarua Moutere (North East Islands) is part of the Tentative list of New Zealand in order to qualify for inclusion in the World Heritage List.

Click here for a short description of the site, as delivered by the state party.



  • Tentative

The coordinates shown for all tentative sites were produced as a community effort. They are not official and may change on inscription.

Community Reviews

No reviews yet.

Share your experiences!

Have you been to Whakarua Moutere (North East Islands)? Add your own review.

Site Info

Site History

  • 2007 - Submitted 
  • 2007 - Revision Includes former TWHS Cape Reinga and Three Kings Islands area (1993)

Site Links

In the News


The site has 9 locations.

  • Cuvier Island
  • Hauturu/Little Barrier Island
  • Hen and Chickens Islands
  • Mokohinau Islands
  • Aldermen Islands
  • Poor Knights Islands
  • Red Mercury and the lesser Mercury Islands
  • Te Paki and North Cape Reserves
  • Three Kings Islands/Manawatawhi