Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers


A tetraconch, from the Greek for "four shells", is a building, usually a church or other religious building, with four apses, one in each direction, usually of equal size. The basic ground plan of the building is therefore a Greek cross. (wiki)

The connection belongs to Architecture connections.

Connected Sites

  • Bosra: The ruined so-called Cathedral of Bosra, of the early 6th century, is the earliest major Syrian tetraconch church (wiki)
  • Echmiatsin and Zvartnots: Saint Hripsime Church at Echmiatsin: "has a square tetraconch highly complex central plan" (wiki); also Zvartnots "a 7th-century centrally planned aisled tetraconch type"
  • Mtskheta: The Jvari church is an early example of a "four-apsed church with four niches" domed tetraconch. (wiki)
  • Ravenna: The Mausoleum of Galla Placidia in Ravenna (425–30), world-famous for its mosaics, is almost a tetraconch, although there are short vaulted arms leading from the central space to each apse-end. These end in a flat wall with no semi-dome, and the entrance end is slightly longer (wiki)


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Tetraconch?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source