Silk Road

Photo by Walter.

Silk Road has been part of the Tentative list of Kazakhstan.

Silk Road is a serial nomination including 23 locations (if we exclude the 8 elements already inscribed in the “Silk Road: the Routes Network of Chang’an-Tianshan Corridor”). It is divided into five sections, four of main geographical sections of the Silk Roads (in use from the 2nd century BC until the end of the 16th century): - the Chang’an-TianShan segment, of which almost all sites are already inscribed - the Syrdarya corridor with well-preserved rests of cultural landscapes of oasises and towns saved in conditions of present steppe, desert a semi-desert area and adjusted to big water rivers. - the Syryaka corridor, with only one element in the great steppe of Kazakhstan. - the Mangyshlak (Ural-Caspian) corridor, on the eastern part of the Caspian Sea, with natural landscape of deserts and semi-deserts. The fifth section represents pre-historic necropolis with many kurgan (tumulus over graves), dating to the 5th to 3th century BC, therefore pre-dating the actual creation of the Silk Road (represented on the picture).

Map of Silk Road

Load map

The coordinates shown for all tentative sites were produced as a community effort. They are not official and may change on inscription.

Community Reviews

No reviews available.

Community Likes


1 Votes

Full Name
Silk Road
2021 Revision

The TWHS has been replaced by 3 new TWHS: Silk Roads: Early Period (Prehistory), Silk Roads: Fergana-Syrdarya Corridor, and Silk Roads: Volga-Caspian Corridor. 12 of the original 23 locations have been subsumed in these new sites.

2021 Removed from Tentative List

2012 Added to Tentative List

Unesco Website: Silk Road

The site has 11 locations


Community Members have visited.

WHS 1997-2023