Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun, Ancient Tumulus Clusters

Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun, Ancient Tumulus Clusters is part of the Tentative list of Japan in order to qualify for inclusion in the World Heritage List.

Click here for a short description of the site, as delivered by the state party.



  • Tentative

The coordinates shown for all tentative sites were produced as a community effort. They are not official and may change on inscription.

Community Reviews

Tsunami Japan / USA / Germany 15-Jun-17

Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun, Ancient Tumulus Clusters (T) by Tsunami

In 2014 I visited the centerpiece of this nomination, the Daisen Kofun, which is considered to be the grave of Emperor Nintoku and is the single largest grave in the world by area.

It is so large that the best way to view it is perhaps to take off or land at the Kansai (Osaka) International Airport.

The photo shows the Shinto Torii Gate in the middle, behind which lie the triple moats that surround the all important keyhole-shaped grave.

I believe this site has a long way to go before being inscribed on the WH list, simply because, no matter what the nomination dossier says, nobody is certain that the Daisen Kofun is really the grave for the Emperor. This absurdity comes from the fact that the belief that the grave belongs to an Emperor means it is managed by the Imperial Household Agency, an ultra conservative entity that wouldn't allow anyone to visit such a holy site, let alone to dig it, resulting in the uncertainty. (Remember that the Japanese Imperial Family is considered to be the decedents of Amaterasu, the Sun Goddess, in the Japanese mythology.) I was told by a man who managed this property on site that the Ministry of Culture, which takes care of the World Cultural Heritage in Japan, had been unsuccessfully battling it out with the Imperial Household Agency, which takes care of the past and present living deity!

Read more from Tsunami here.

Share your experiences!

Have you been to Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun, Ancient Tumulus Clusters? Add your own review.

Site Info

  • Full name: Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun, Ancient Tumulus Clusters
  • Country: Japan
  • Nominated for 2019
  • Link: By Name By ID

Site History

  • 2010 - Submitted 

In the News


The site has 89 locations. Show all

  • Ankan-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Aoyama Kofun
  • Banshoyama Kofun
  • Bozuyama Kofun
  • Chayama Kofun
  • Chinjuyamazuka Kofun
  • Chinooka Kofun
  • Chuai-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Daianjiyama Kofun
  • Dogameyama Kofun
  • Donchayama Kofun
  • Futatsuzuka Kofun
  • Genemonyama Kofun
  • Gobyo-omotezuka Kofun
  • Gobyoyama Kofun
  • Guwashobo Kofun
  • Hachizuka Kofun
  • Hakayama Kofun
  • Hanzei-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Hatazuka Kofun
  • Hayatozuka Kofun
  • Hazamiyama Kofun
  • Higashisakenomi Kofun
  • Higashiuenoshibacho Kofun
  • Higashiumazuka Kofun
  • Higashiyama Kofun
  • Hinokizuka Kofun
  • Hinotani Kofun
  • Inarizuka Kofun
  • Ingyo-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Inuizuka Kofun
  • Itasuke Kofun
  • Joganjiyama Kofun
  • Jonoyama Kofun
  • Kabutozuka Kofun
  • Kagamizuka Kofun
  • Karatoyama Kofun
  • Kasugayamada-kogo-ryo Kofun
  • Kitsuneyama Kofun
  • Komoyamazuka Kofun
  • Komuroyama Kofun
  • Kondamaruyama Kofun
  • Koshiragayama Kofun
  • Kurizuka Kofun
  • Kyodo Kofun
  • Magodayuyama Kofun
  • Maruhoyama Kofun
  • Matsukawazuka Kofun
  • Minegazuka Kofun
  • Miyanominamizuka Kofun
  • Monjuzuka Kofun
  • Mozuyama Kofun
  • Mukohakayama Kofun
  • Nabezuka Kofun
  • Nagatsuka Kofun
  • Nagayama Kofun
  • Nakatsuhimeno-mikoto-ryo Kofun
  • Nakayamazuka Kofun
  • Ninken-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Nintoku-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Nisanzai Kofun
  • Nishisakenomi Kofun
  • Nishiumazuka Kofun
  • Nonaka Kofun
  • Nonakamiyayama Kofun
  • Nonoue Kofun
  • Ojin-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Osamezuka Kofun
  • Otorizuka Kofun
  • Richu-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Sandoyama Kofun
  • Seinei-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Sekimenyama Kofun
  • Shichikannon Kofun
  • Shimaizumi-hiratsuka
  • Shorakujiyama Kofun
  • Suketayama Kofun
  • Suzuyama Kofun
  • Tatsusayama Kofun
  • Tenno Kofun
  • Terayamaminamiyama Kofun
  • Tsudoshiroyama Kofun
  • Tsukamawari Kofun
  • Warizuka Kofun
  • Yamatotakerunomikoto-hakuchoryo Kofun
  • Yashimazuka Kofun
  • Yuryaku-tenno-ryo Kofun
  • Zenemonyama Kofun
  • Zenizuka Kofun