Latest Community Reviews

Sukhothai

Jakob Frenzel Germany - 29-May-20

Sukhothai

July 2016 - actually Sukhothai was the worst experience of the two week trip for me. I suffered from food poisening and could not really enjoy the nice acient temples. But with some distance, i have quite good memory of the visit. We took the bus from Chiang Mai to Sukhothai and found a cosy guesthouse with pool in the town. Next morning I was not feeling well, but was urged to visit the nearby temples. Again with the option of borrowing bikes, we could see quite a selection of  temples. The location and the conservation of the temples add up to the nice experience. Nice palm trees and an exotic selection of birds made it a perfect scenery for spending a day.

Read On

Monuments, Sites and Cultural Landscape of Chiang Mai, Capital of Lanna (T)

Jakob Frenzel Germany - 29-May-20

Monuments, Sites and Cultural Landscape of Chiang Mai, Capital of Lanna (T)

July 2016 - after a few day sidetrip to Cambodia we headed north by bus to Chiang Mai. Its probably the capital of cats. In every corner, at every temple they were appearing and made for some nice pictures. In the one times one km of the old city there about 40 temples if i remeber correctly. We borrowed  bikes and took a whole day to visit as many as possible. some are marvelous, some are antique, some just have a nice atmosphere. Besides the temples there is also quite a lot of street art and it is a very green and quite city. Next day we drove up to Doi suthep, to see the winter palace and the most south-eastern  foothills of the Himalaya. for Thailand it was our highlight, and there would be much more to discover north of the city

Read On

Angkor

Jakob Frenzel Germany - 28-May-20

Angkor

July 2016 - What an adventure that we planned. My sister came back from a one year work-and travel in NZ and Australia with a prolonged stopover option in Bangkok. Good opportunity for us to finally visit Thailand. Coincidentally my best friend from school was also around and joined our travels for a bit. After arriving in Asia and having a relaxed day on the Chao Praya, we took the train to the Cambodian border the next day. The train ride was an awesome experience already. A tuktuk took us to the border (beware of fake visa offices) and it cost us maybe half an hour and some shine dollar bills at the customs, to get our Visa and resume travel.The 2 hour busride to Siem Riep was in a comfortable Vantaxi with 10 other tourists, including 2 potential rip-off stopovers on the way

Read On

Mountain-top Hotel and Television Transmitter Ještěd (T)

Zoë Sheng Chinese-Canadian - 27-May-20

Mountain-top Hotel and Television Transmitter Ještěd (T)

Don't even ask me how to pronounce Ještěd. I tried telling people on the trip about my stay there and they were like "what, where?" and when they finally figured it out the conversation had already shifted to something else.

I really like the tower

Read On

Stari Ras and Sopocani

Juha Sjoeblom Finland - 27-May-20

Stari Ras and Sopocani

Site visited July 2016. Stari Ras and Sopoćani is generally least known and visited among the six Yugoslavian sites which were inscribed in 1979. Although the name makes you think that there are two sites the inscription consists of four separate sites around the town of Novi Pazar. This group of medieval monuments of the first capital of Serbia gives you an interesting insight to the history of the country.

I travelled to Novi Pazar by bus from Belgrad and visited the Studenica Monastery during the trip

Read On

Delhi - A Heritage City (T)

Clyde Malta - 26-May-20

Delhi - A Heritage City (T)

I visited this tentative WHS in January 2012. In a way, India's capital, Delhi, is a bit like China's capital, Beijing. Several top notch WHS here and there, but no real 'historic centre'. This nomination tries to make up for this by highlighting Delhi's “surviving historic urbanscape” in a triangular patch of land with the River Yamuna on one side and the northern range of Aravalli hills on the other two sides.

This historic urbanscape comprises the four precincts of Mehrauli, Nizamuddin, Shahjahanabad and New Delhi. The first three precincts are already well covered in reviews of the already inscribed crown jewels of each precinct, namely Qutab Minar, Humayun's Tomb and the Red Fort. So in this review I will focus on the remaining precinct New Delhi.

Read On

Rouen : ensemble urbain à pans de bois, cathédrale, église Saint-Ouen, église Saint Maclou (T)

Clyde Malta - 26-May-20

Rouen : ensemble urbain à pans de bois, cathédrale, église Saint-Ouen, église Saint Maclou (T)

I visited this tentative WHS several times as a pleasant stopover city on my way to other WHS or tWHS such as Mont-St-Michel, Le Havre, Amiens, Carnac or Cordouan. However, back in June 2011, I had allowed a full weekend specifically for Rouen.

Rouen is the capital of Normandy, even though it is relatively close to Paris. In the past it was one of the largest and most prosperous cities of medieval Europe and it was the seat of the Exchequer of Normandy during the Middle Ages. It was also one of the capitals of the Anglo-Norman dynasties, which ruled both England and large parts of modern France from the 11th to the 15th centuries. Rouen saw the tragic end of Saint Joan of Arc’s life, a legacy that continues to leave its mark in the city.

Read On

Sites for Liquor Making in China (T)

Stanislaw Warwas Poland - 25-May-20

Sites for Liquor Making in China (T)

Visited May 2019

I have visited only one component Shuijingjie Workshop (Shui Jing Fang Bo Wu Guan 水井坊博物馆) which is located in central part of Chengdu (metro line 2, DongMen Bridge, exit B). This is a regular museum that can be visited only as a part of guided tour. The first tour starts at around 10 am and even you’re the only person that wants to visit it, a museum guide will assist you, even if they do not speak English. My guide tried to do her best (using kind of a translator in her smartphone) to let me understand what I was looking at, but as I knew nothing about liquor making (baijiu), I think I missed almost 80% of her efforts. Some of the parts in the museum have English explanation boards – and that helped a bit.

Read On

Olympic National Park

Jay T USA - 21-May-20

Olympic National Park

Olympic National Park has everything I love in a national park: mountains, lakes, great trails, and wildlife. It even borders the coast, with amazing scenery where the Pacific Ocean laps against rocky shorelines and coniferous-covered bluffs. The park is home to one of the best places to see a temperate rainforest in the United States, with moss covering tree trunks and stumps, and ferns lining the forest floor. But the beauty comes with a price; this area receives a lot of rain, and visitors may find their views limited by mist and fog.

Read On

Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun

Hubert Austria - 21-May-20

Mozu-Furuichi Kofungun

Without doubt, you get the best impression of this WHS from an aerial view. Shortly after the departure from Kansai Airport westwards you have a perfect view of the Mozu Konfun complex. It is strange to see these huge tombs like green islands in the middle of a sea of ​​modern buildings. One inevitably wonders what this densly populated area may have looked like in the 5th century when the largest of these kofuns were built. And what remains of this ancient culture might still be hidden underground. However, the builders of these tombs have left no written records, no remains of palaces or fortifications have been preserved. Only the kofuns and the artifacts that were found in there.

Read On

Sigatoka Sand Dunes (T)

Stanislaw Warwas Poland - 18-May-20

Sigatoka Sand Dunes (T)

Visited May 2014

Sigatoka Sand Dunes National park was the first national park ever established in Fiji – and that was in 1989. The park is located on the biggest island of archipelago, Viti Levu, on its south-western part, at the mouth of the Sigatoka River, very close to the town of Sigatoka. It can be easily reached and visited as a day trip from both Nadi and Suva and any other lodge on the southern coast (called Corral Coast) of the Island – there are many buses going in each direction from early morning till late afternoon. The entrance to the park is visible from the road, the green board; you can just tell the driver that you’re heading to the park and you’ll be dropped at this green board

Read On

Ani

Bergecn - 17-May-20

We visited Ani (on the UNESCO list since 2016) in February 2020.  We had travelled on the Eastern Express Train from Ankara to Kars and then another 42km to the site (a public transport bus leaves from Gazi Ahmet Muhtar Paşa Konağı in Kars).  Many people had advised us to make this trip in winter because the snow covered plains and mountains are spectacular to watch.   Indeed, the journey through the winter landscape of Anatolia, and when arriving in Ani the contrast between the ruins in dark brown and grey stone, the white blanket of snow across the ancient city against a deep blue sky in the bright sun light, was impressive despite the biting cold with temperatures far below zero.

Read On

Baptism Site "Bethany Beyond the Jordan"

Stanislaw Warwas Poland - 15-May-20

Baptism Site "Bethany Beyond the Jordan"

Visited October 2017

Reading the previous reviews from Bethany beyond the Jordan, I had an impression that most of the visitors are seeing only one component of the inscribed site – the area of the churches of Saint John the Baptist which is located close to the Jordan river and the river bank itself. It is maybe because this is the place where most of the tours from the visitors’ information booth are taken. And you must be a part of the tour, ‘cos this site is located straight at the border with Israel – while at the Jordan bank you can see pilgrims on the other side of river just 20 metres from you at Kasr al-Jahud

Read On

Malleco Viaduct (T)

Jarek Pokrzywnicki Polska - 14-May-20

Malleco Viaduct (T)

Site visited in November, 2006. Easy stop if you drive a car on Panamericana. It is located around 600 km south of Santiago de Chile, near the town of Collipulli. You cannot miss the object as it is located just near the highway (and well-marked, there are brown signs on Ruta 5, just search for Monumento Nacional Viaducto Malleco). Malleco Viaduct or Puente Malleco is an engineering monument from the end of XIX century.

At first glance it looks as typical work of Gustave Eiffel but it was designed by local Victorino Aurelio Lastarria in 1887 although Eiffel [...]

Read On

Machu Picchu

Jay T USA - 13-May-20

Machu Picchu

There's a good reason Machu Picchu remains one of the highest rated World Heritage Sites -- this Inca city is spectacularly and photogenically set atop a mountain ridge in the Andes northwest of Cusco. Machu Picchu symbolizes adventure and discovery of the unknown, and it has become a mecca for intrepid travelers from around the world.

I arrived at Machu Picchu in the fall of 2018 at the end of a four day hike along the Inca Trail. Not only is hiking the Inca Trail a great introduction to the network of Inca fortresses and settlements remaining in the Andes, but it also makes Machu Picchu that much more memorable when first viewed from the Temple of the Sun at the end of a trek. And what a sight it is from the temple -- the emerald lawns, the terraced buildings, and the backdrop of Huayna Picchu's peak are absolutely stunning. If your afternoon is clear and sunny like ours was, this is where you can find some iconic views of Machu Picchu

Read On

Amsterdam Canal Ring

Danifromthenetherlands Netherlands - 12-May-20

The Amsterdam Canal Ring, or inner canal belt area, is probably the most distinguishable feature of the capital of the Netherlands. With its history dating back to the late 16th century, it forms the heart of the city. The Canal Ring consists of 4 main canals that surround the centre which, historically seen, served the purpose of enabling transportation and protecting the centre against hostile armies. The main canals are; Singel, Herengracht, Keizersgracht and Prinsengracht. These canals are interconnected through several smaller channels and of course the Amstel River, where Amsterdam derived its name from.

Read On

Residence Ensemble Schwerin - Cultural Landscape of Romantic Historicism (T)

Clyde Malta - 13-May-20

Residence Ensemble Schwerin - Cultural Landscape of Romantic Historicism (T)

I visited this tentative WHS in October 2014 on my way back from my road trip to Bremen, Hamburg, Lübeck and Wismar. The Schwerin Castle ensemble is only 40 minutes away by car from Wismar and around 50 minutes away from Schalsee, a UNESCO biosphere reserve.

The Schwerin Castle ensemble is definitely on par with other inscribed properties on the WH list such as Muskauer Park in Germany/Poland or Lednice Palace in Czechia and although it doesn't add anything particularly new to the list, on a sunny day it is a very enjoyable visit (when in the area). Its construction was also inspired by the Renaissance châteaux of the Loire Valley such as Chambord.

Read On

Region Lacan-Tún - Usumacinta (T)

Frédéric M Canada - 12-May-20

Region Lacan-Tún - Usumacinta (T)

La Région Lacan-Tún – Usumacinta is proposed as a mixed site by Mexico. It encompasses large areas of tropical forest in eastern Chiapas, notably the flora and fauna protection area Nahá-Metzabok, the flora and fauna protection area Chankin, the natural monument Bonampak, the natural monument Yaxchilán, the biosphere reserve Montes Azules, the biosphere reserve Lacan – Tún and the communal reserve La Cojolita. The nomination file claim an OUV from the high biodiversity of the area as well as the Mayan remains. I visited Mexico in 2019 and visited two components of this site: Yaxchilán and Bonampak

Read On

Nikko

Hubert Austria - 11-May-20

Nikko

"Don't say beautifully until you've seen Nikkō" is an old Japanese saying. And not without reason. The temples and shrines of Nikkō are famous for their colourful ornaments and the multitude of carvings, best known are the Three Wise Monkeys: see no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil.
Nikkō was already a holy place in the 8th century, and became a spiritual centre when the mausoleum of the first Tokugawa Shōgun was moved here in the early 17th century. The temples and shrines represent the architectural style of the Edo period (1603 to 1868).

Read On

Navrongo Catholic Cathedral (T)

Stanislaw Warwas Poland - 08-May-20

Navrongo Catholic Cathedral (T)

Visited December 2010

Navrongo is a natural stop for those travelling from Burkina Faso to Ghana after visiting Cour Royal de Tiébélé (TL) and is a good starting point for checking two of Ghanaian TL sites: Navrongo mud cathedral, located in the outskirts of town, and Tenzug-Tallensi settlements, 40 km to SE. (While in the city, which is neither too big nor interesting itself, you can also visit Paga just right at the border 12 km to the N, with its crocodile ponds and Paga Pia’s Palace; if you still have a moment, there is a 18/19th century slave camp called Pikworo with pretty interesting and touching history.)

Read On