Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Okinoshima Island

Okinoshima Island

The Sacred Island of Okinoshima has been a ritual site from the 4th – 9th century.

Ritual practices and votive offerings were made to pray for safety in navigating the seas, for boats heading to Korea and China to trade. The site includes three nearby islets, Koyajima, Mikadobashira and Tenguiwa, and 4 sites on and closer to Kyushu. There are a number of taboos and restrictions on visiting Okinoshima, including a ban of women and the prohibition “to speak of anything they have seen or heard on the Island”.

Map of Okinoshima Island


  • Cultural

Share your experiences!

Have you been to Okinoshima Island? Add your own review!

Site Info

Full name: Sacred Island of Okinoshima and Associated Sites in the Munakata Region

Unesco ID: 1535

Inscribed: 2017

Type: Cultural

Criteria: 2   3  

Link: By Name By ID

Site History

  • 2017 - Inscribed 


The site has 8 locations.

  • Okinoshima Island: Hetsu-miya, Munakata Taisha
  • Okinoshima Island: Koyajima
  • Okinoshima Island: Mikadobashira
  • Okinoshima Island: Nakatsu-miya, Munakata Taisha
  • Okinoshima Island: Okinoshima
  • Okinoshima Island: Okitsu-miya Yohaisho, Munakata Taisha
  • Okinoshima Island: Shimbaru-Nuyama Mounded Tomb Group
  • Okinoshima Island: Tenguiwa


4 community members have visited Okinoshima Island.