Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Xinjiang Tianshan

Xinjiang Tianshan

Xinjiang Tianshan is a mountain range that holds glaciers, snowcapped peaks, alpine meadows, lakes and canyons.

These mountains are in stark contrast with the surrounding six deserts, of which part of the Taklamakan Desert is within the WH area borders.

This site covers the Chinese part of the Tianshan mountains, which extend into Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan. Tomur is its highest peak at 7,443m.

The site has 4 components:

- Tomur

- Kalajun-Kuerderning

- Bayinbuluke

- Bogda

Map of Xinjiang Tianshan


  • Natural

Share your experiences!

Have you been to Xinjiang Tianshan? Add your own review!

Site Info

Full name: Xinjiang Tianshan

Unesco ID: 1414

Inscribed: 2013

Type: Natural

Criteria: 7   9  

Link: By Name By ID

Site History

  • 2013 - Inscribed 


The site has 4 locations.

  • Xinjiang Tianshan: Bayinbuluke
  • Xinjiang Tianshan: Bogda
  • Xinjiang Tianshan: Kalajun-Kuerdening
  • Xinjiang Tianshan: Tomur