Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Phoenix Islands

Phoenix Islands

The Phoenix Islands Protected Area is a remote marine ecosystem known for its high biodiversity. The area consists of eight atolls and two submerged coral reefs. The islands and surrounding areas are home to some 120 species of coral and more than 500 species of fish. They are located in the central Pacific Ocean.

On January 28, 2008, the government of Kiribati formally declared the entire Phoenix group and surrounding waters a protected area, making its 410,500 square kilometres the world's largest marine protected area. The islands are all uninhabited, except for some fishermen and officials on Kanton.

Map of Phoenix Islands


  • Natural

Share your experiences!

Have you been to Phoenix Islands? Add your own review!

Site Info

Full name: Phoenix Islands Protected Area

Unesco ID: 1325

Inscribed: 2010

Type: Natural

Criteria: 7   9  

Link: By Name By ID

Site History

  • 2010 - Inscribed 


The site has 1 locations.

  • Phoenix Islands


2 community members have visited Phoenix Islands.