About this website www.worldheritagesite.org Forum / About this website /

Backlog of technical enhancements

Page  Page 2 of 3:  « Previous  1  2  3  Next »  
Author elsslots
Admin
#16 | Posted: 14 Mar 2017 13:04 
nfmungard:
Countrymap not loading either. Will check when I am back home.

nfmungard:
Globalmap.php isn't working. The cached page doesn't load.

Both work for me

Author nfmungard
Registered
#17 | Posted: 14 Mar 2017 13:12 
elsslots

The globalmap.html remains empty. globalmap.php is fine.

Country map seems fine.

Could be an intranet issue. If you are fine all is good.

Author elsslots
Admin
#18 | Posted: 14 Mar 2017 13:13 
nfmungard:
If you are fine all is good.

It's fine

Author mrayers
Registered
#19 | Posted: 15 Mar 2017 14:24 | Edited by: mrayers 
I should mention that I am also not able to properly view the globalmap page since yesterday (all other pages on the site render correctly).

It seems like it might be a css issue?

I have tried that page in several browsers, and all that use Webkit engine look like this:

http://www.terminalia.org/bird/screen1.png

I mainly use the Maxthon browser, which has a "retro mode" (Trident engine), and with that the page looks like:

http://www.terminalia.org/bird/screen2.png

In that case, the map loads, but the page does not display properly, and renders VERY slowly. [EDIT: In this case, the map appears, but the controls don't work properly. I am not able to pan the map, and when I try to zoom, the main map stays the same, but only the overlay with the site location icons changes scale...]

Thanks

Author elsslots
Admin
#20 | Posted: 15 Mar 2017 14:53 | Edited by: elsslots 
mrayers:
renders VERY slowly

Thanks mrayers for your analysis - nfmungard it seems that the most recent version of globalmap.php has become slower, can you have a look at it again?

For me it works well in Internet Explorer, but not in Chrome
P.S.: I've now saved it in Chrome and re-published it, is it OK now for you both mrayers and nfmungard?

Author mrayers
Registered
#21 | Posted: 15 Mar 2017 20:43 
elsslots:
P.S.: I've now saved it in Chrome and re-published it, is it OK now for you both mrayers and nfmungard?

Working great for me now. Thanks!

Author nfmungard
Registered
#22 | Posted: 16 Mar 2017 03:55 | Edited by: nfmungard 
The cached HTML file looks fine. Recommendation would be to cache both this map as well as the alltent map daily.

I will check how this can be done transparently. After the refactoring is done the url rewrites are in place. And some test scripts are done :) Will keep me busy for a while.

Author nfmungard
Registered
#23 | Posted: 29 Mar 2017 06:37 | Edited by: nfmungard 
For those interested in the technical things going on... Els put a rewrite live yesterday. We will keep the old links and allow for other links going forward. E.g.:
Old (still working):
http://www.worldheritagesite.org/testt/country.php?id=33

New 1:
http://www.worldheritagesite.org/testt/country/name/Egypt
New 2:
http://www.worldheritagesite.org/testt/country/id/33

Author GaryArndt
Registered
#24 | Posted: 29 Mar 2017 09:42 
Why are there 2 colors for each type of site (cultural, natural, etc)? What is the difference between light green and dark green?

Author nfmungard
Registered
#25 | Posted: 29 Mar 2017 10:51 
GaryArndt

We have 1 primary location (dark) per country and several secondary locations for each site. Point is that you know how Germany has only 40 sites if the whole map is full of dots. For compact sites, it also helps to give you an idea where they are.

Author paul
Registered
#26 | Posted: 30 Mar 2017 03:24 
Perhaps a better name for the "primary location" would be "nominal location" the location representing the site. Primary location seems to imply importance.

This community now has the most complete, most correct, best organised and enriched WHS data set anywhere - thinking of good data structures will pay off when it becomes the de facto source of truth!

Author Durian
Registered
#27 | Posted: 11 Apr 2017 03:42 
Czechia

Els, UNESCO website already change the name of Czech Republic to Czechia, we should follow them.

Author Solivagant
Registered
#28 | Posted: 11 Apr 2017 05:15 | Edited by: Solivagant 
Durian:
Els, UNESCO website already change the name of Czech Republic to Czechia, we should follow them.

A couple of related articles which might be of interest/amusement. Whatever Czechia can do The Slovak Republic can do better!
www.theguardian.com/world/2016/oct/25/nobody-calls-it-czechia-czech-republic-new-fail s-catch-on
and
www.theguardian.com/world/2017/apr/10/slovak-media-face-fines-referring-britain-inste ad-uk-united-kingdom

I also note that it is still "The Czech Republic" as far as the London Embassy is concerned -
http://www.mzv.cz/london/en

Author nfmungard
Registered
#29 | Posted: 11 Apr 2017 06:07 
Durian:
Czechia

Not really a technical issue ;) Soon the link will be www.worldheritagesite.org/country/czechia. That would be technical.

Author elsslots
Admin
#30 | Posted: 11 Apr 2017 11:07 
Durian:
Els, UNESCO website already change the name of Czech Republic to Czechia, we should follow them.

Done!

Page  Page 2 of 3:  « Previous  1  2  3  Next » 
About this website www.worldheritagesite.org Forum / About this website / Backlog of technical enhancements Top

Your Reply Click this icon to move up to the quoted message

 

 ?
Only registered users are allowed to post here. Please, enter your username/password details upon posting a message, or register first.
 
 
  www.worldheritagesite.org Forum Powered by Chat Forum Software miniBB ®