Chichen Itza
Gebel Berkal

World Heritage Site

for World Heritage Travellers

Seven Wonders of the World

The Seven Wonders of the World (or the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World) is a widely-known list of seven remarkable manmade constructions of classical antiquity.

The connection belongs to WHS on Other Lists connections.

Connected Sites

  • Ephesus: Temple of Artemis, one of the Classical Seven Wonders of the World
  • Museumsinsel (Museum Island): Hanging Gardens of Babylon, Ishtar Gate (reconstruction from its remains now in Pergamom Museum)
  • Olympia: Statue of Zeus at Olympia (destructed in the 5th or 6th century AD)
  • Pyramids (Memphis): Great Pyramid of Giza (still standing)
  • Rhodes: Colossus of Rhodes (felled by an earthquake in 226 BC)


Do you know of another WHS we could connect to Seven Wonders of the World?

Send it to me!

A connection should:

  1. Not be "self evident"
  2. Link at least 3 different sites
  3. Not duplicate or merely subdivide the "Category" assignment already identified on this site.
  4. Add some knowledge or insight (whether significant or trivial!) about WHS for the users of this site
  5. Be explained, with reference to a source